WordFactory Logo

Jacob Ross

Three Books That Have Inspired Me:

  1. Texaco by Patrick Chamoiseau.
    Probably one of the most innovative novels to arrive on the French scene since Céline. A wonderfully sensuous depiction of French Antilleans in particular and humanity at large.
  2. Jazz by Toni Morrison.
    The second in Morrison’s Trilogy set in 1920s Harlem. Formally daring and profound.
  3. Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck.
    ‘I’ve done my damndest to rip a reader’s nerves to rags,’ said Steinbeck. It took courage and conviction to write this book in 1930s America.

Three Books I Have Enjoyed Reading Recently:

  1. Legend of a Suicide by David Vann.
    Interconnected stories: beautifully written, highly textured and heartfelt. The story, Sukkwan Island shocks.
  2. Seduce by Desiree Reynolds.
    A dead prostitute looks on at her own funeral and comments on the ‘mourners’.
    In the vein of Marlon James’, The Book of Night Women and Zora Neal Hurston’s, Their Eyes were Watching God. Beautiful, transgressive and just as powerful.
  3. The Testament of Mary by Colm Tóibín.
    The (silenced) mother of Christ tells her story.

Jacob RossJacob Ross is the author of two short story collections, Song for Simone, and A Way to Catch the Dust. His novel, Pynter Bender, was short-listed for the Commonwealth Writer’s Prize (2009), Society of Authors ‘Best first Novel’ and ‘Caribbean Review of Books ‘Book of the Year.’ He is Associate Editor for Fiction at Peepal Tree Press and SABLE Literary Magazine and a reader/tutor for The Literary Consultancy. He has Judged the Scott Moncrieff Translation, the VS Pritchett and Tom Gallon prizes. An established tutor of Narrative Craft, he runs writing masterclasses in the UK and abroad. He co-edited Voice, Memory, Ashes; Riding and Rising, and Turf and co-authored with Kwesi Owusu, Behind the Masquerade: The Story of Notting Hill Carnival. In 2006 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. In 2011, he received Grenada’s highest award for his contribution to literature.
Visit Jacob online here.